Pomfretite


San Francisco, California

I have not posted in over a month and a half. (BAD BLOGGER, BAD.) This is probably because I haven’t done anything too interesting besides move to San Francisco, California. oh…that is interesting? Okay.

After a very stressful departure from Pomfret, Connecticut I arrived at San Francisco International Airport at 9:35pm on the very last day of 2009. My friends, Charlie and Kjax picked me up at the airport and drove me to their new home in Mountain View, California.

The next day we hung out on Valencia Street in San Francisco and looked in a few shops, many of which were closed because of the holiday. This month, I am living in my friend’s apartment while he is away. It is on the Panhandle, and I have now walked to most of the neighborhoods in the center of the city. It is in a good location for roaming on foot. Yes, a motorcycle lives under my bedroom, (I am being reminded of that right now) but it is a great apartment.

Citrus grows here. I knew that, but it was still strange to see lemons and oranges at the farmers market. I’ve been to the farmers’ markets in Noe Valley, on Divisadero Street and outside of the Ferry Building. I will visit more in the future, no doubt. I bought mandarin oranges at both the farmers’ markets in Noe Valley and outside of the Ferry Building. Both of the batches were tasty and organic, but the ones from Noe Valley were quite a bit tastier (and worth the extra fifty cents a pound).

I am here for Bennington’s Field Work Term. It is my last Field Work Term ever. I am interning at a gallery and at a film production company. I’ve only gone to the gallery so far, and I liked being there. It is in a not-so-nice neighborhood, but it seems safe enough. I was given good projects to work on and my intern tasks don’t seem to be too different from the tasks of those who work in the gallery. (That is good!) The gallery represents artists whose work I truly enjoy looking at and thinking about.

I will be going to Oakland today. I just finished reading Farm City by Novella Carpenter, so in a way this is a pilgrimage. Farm City is about making use of the waste produced by cities and using it to feed neighbors food and make neighborhoods better places to live. The book is heavy on meat, but there is far too much information and good writing for a vegetarian to put it down. Currently, I am reading Timbuktu by Paul Auster, which I will now getbaktu.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Pomfretite,

The best Mexican restaurant is Casa Isabelle’s in Palo Alto (our favorite) at the east end of California Ave off of El Camino. We go there every time we visit. It’s on the corner of Park and California.

For Chinese, try Feng’s at 3950 Middlefield Road between Charleston and East Meadow in Palo Alto and Rick’s Rather Rich for ice cream a few doors down from Feng’s.

Cheers

Comment by John




Leave a Reply

