Pomfretite


Propaganda: Fine in Moderation (here’s a hefty dose)

hairdresser

I don’t have a TV, which is why I haven’t heard about the Corn Refiners Association ads until now. I finished reading Michael Pollan’s book, The Omnivore’s Dilemma. (I’ve also read A Place of My Own, Second Nature and In Defense of Food. I enjoyed the style and subjects of these books more. When In Defense of Food was released, I read it in two days.)

From Pollan I have learned, very simply, to avoid the center of the grocery store. His initial advice is simple, “Eat food. Not too much. Mostly plants.” Pollan elaborates on these rules (he had three books to fill on the subject) and detailed the importance of shopping for local foods that are good for the body, mind and earth. While high fructose corn syrup might not be any worse for us than sugar, it is in so many foods that it has become impossible to eat corn in moderation because it is in everything that we eat.

These commercials are offensive. I know that it is still debated as to the health differences between refined white sugar and high fructose corn syrup. Fine. Then I will simply be part of the camp that does not eat high fructose corn syrup because corn has taken over the American landscape and because added sugar in general is bad for my body.

These ads reminded me of other propaganda circulated recently, by the Competitive Enterprise Institute:

I read Fast Food Nation by Eric Schlosser soon after it came out. The factory farm advocacy groups launced a campaign named “Best Food Nation” in response.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

