Pomfretite


Courantly
July 24, 2008, 10:59 pm
Filed under: garden, last green valley | Tags: , , , ,

Two Sunday’s ago I read two articles in the Courant that I enjoyed a lot.

It all came together for me during a recent walk when I crested a hill and saw a clump of shadows — branches, I thought, or were they arms? When I walked closer, I could see a gardener, kneeling, tending a vine. But where the gardener’s arm left off and the vine began seemed indeterminable. Each tends the other, I thought. I carried this image away and the possibility that in each of us, no matter our age or temperament, a garden can grow. Read the rest of the article here.

The spread of Lyme has been linked to a staggering rise in the deer population and to the construction of suburban houses “in the path of the tick tornado.” After years of living near woods in a “paradise” that proved toxic, the author and her family moved four years ago to a high-rise in Stamford to escape the ticks. Read the rest of the article here.

I bought a friend of mine a book titled Lab 257 about the federal germ laboratory on Plum Island. There are theories that Lyme Disease spread from there creating the Lyme Disease epidemic in New England.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

