Pomfretite


Sparky
June 6, 2008, 7:46 am
Filed under: art | Tags: , ,

Sparky, an artist from Brooklyn, will exhibit over 100 portraits of himself at the Schroeder Romero / Winkleman Gallery Project Space in Chelsea through June 28. I had the opportunity to meet Sparky when he paid a daily visit to the office I was interning in during the beginning of this year. Sparky’s work is sometimes erotic often with homosexual references. When asked by Amy Sadao if Sparky identified as a gay artist Sparky responded:

It’s nobody’s business whose butt I sniff, but I’m not ashamed of it either. I’ve had some good bitches, but I tend to fall for those Alpha Dog types. There have always been amazing dogs whose sexuality was known in the industry but kept quiet publicly. Lassie was certainly the Rock Hudson of the four-legged world. As far as labels go, I prefer Queer Canine – I’m here, I’m queer, I’m peeing on your lawn, Get use to it!

Go see the Sparky Show or view the Sparky Project online.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

