Pomfretite


Routes in Four Cities I
June 6, 2008, 4:46 am
Filed under: college, last green valley | Tags: , , , , ,

Bennington and North Bennington, Vermont:

North Bennington and Bennington, Vermont

I’m working on a series of sloppy maps that show various routes through the four municipalities that I’ve been a resident of, Bennington, New York, Pomfret and Providence.

This first series documents my running routes. Knowing what I know about running, I know I’m addicted to running. I had no idea it could become a disorder until a year ago. Luckily, I’m not that extreme yet. In the two rural locations I steered away from subdivisions and in the two cities I…attempted…to avoid traffic. In three of the municipalities (all but Pomfret) I tended to travel in the direction I understood as North on standard runs – Bennington, true North; New York, Uptown; and Providence, towards the top of the RISD Map. In all cases this could be considered necessary – Bennington, avoiding blight; New York, escaping to Central Park; and Providence, avoiding traffic.

So which is my favorite municipality to run in? I don’t know, but a lot of the things that I appreciate while running (lack of traffic and noise for example) aren’t so appreciated when my run in finished. For example, the distance from groceries.

New York, New York:

Pomfret, Connecticut:

Providence, Rhode Island:

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

