Pomfretite


12 Crane
June 4, 2008, 7:55 pm
Filed under: art, last green valley | Tags: , , ,

My friend and I left Putnam, Connecticut in hopes of finding yummy sandwiches in Southbridge, Massachusetts. I remembered seeing that Sturbridge Coffee Roasters had sandwiches so we traveled the few miles to Hamilton Street. Sturbridge Coffee Roasters is in the Flat Iron Building. Not THE Flatiron Building, but the Flat Iron Building of Southbridge. It looks slightly out of place, surrounded by vinyl-sided triple-deckers and two story walk-ups, but has no doubt set an example for the surrounding neighborhood.

Unfortunately, the coffee place was closed. We walked around back where we found an ice cream place and an art gallery. As we were decided to go look elsewhere my friend recognized a woman and asked if she knew her. She did indeed! She was the mother of a friend and also the owner of the building. She gave us a tour and told us that she also owned the building and businesses across the street. The building is 12 Crane (named for its location at 12 Crane Street) and has tasteful Helvetica lettering to tell you so. There is an Irish Pub, restaurant and brewery located within.

The woman who gave us the tour of both buildings was Margaret Morrissey who owned them with her husband Gabriel McCarthy. She apparently lives down the street from me in Pomfret and knows a few of our neighbors.

When I went home and told my very proud Irish mother about the Irish pub I had found and the woman I met she told me she had met her at my grandfathers funeral. Ms. Morrissey is the librarian at the library that my grandfather patronized (or as my mother put it, lived in).

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Good to know about the Helvetica.

Comment by Kathryn




Leave a Reply

